The Ninth Annual

Trieste Joyce School


26 June – 2 July 2005

University of Trieste


Director: Professor Renzo S. Crivelli

Vice-Director: Dr John McCourt




Description of Events


The Ninth edition of  the Trieste Joyce School will take place from 26 June to 2 July 2005. Following the tradition established in previous years, this year's school hopes to satisfy the needs both of seasoned Joyceans and of newcomers to the world of Joyce studies. The School draws inspiration from Trieste itself - its history, its culture, its architecture, its institutions - and leaves participants with a sense of why Joyce came to describe the city as  his “second country".

The school opens on the evening of Sunday 26 June in the auditorium of the Galleria d'Arte moderna "Revoltella" and concludes with a farewell dinner the following Saturday. The morning lectures will see a selection of the world's finest literary scholars address various aspects of Joyce's life and works through a wide range of critical approaches. These lectures are accompanied by week-long afternoon seminars on Dubliners (Michael Patrick Gillespie), Ulysses (Fritz Senn), Finnegans Wake (Ron Ewart), and Joyce and Trieste (Erik Schneider). A special seminar called “Making Manuscripts Speak” on genetic approaches to Joyce will be jointly run by Geert Lernout and Michael Groden. A walking tour of Joyce's Trieste is also arranged as well as a visit to the Trieste Joyce Museum. Among the highlights of this year's social and cultural programme are readings by acclaimed Irish poet and critic, Bernard O’Donoghue,  Joyce and Music - an illustrated lecture by Irish composer and music-professor, Frank Corcoran, a concert for violin and piano ((Tad Lauer and Peter Solomon featuring music by Ferrucio Busoni, Othmar Schoeck, and Luciano Berio. There will also be a visit to an Osmiza in the Triestine Carso, an evening of music and song, and an afternoon on the beach to enjoy what Joyce called “that damn silly sun that turns men into butter”!









Silvia Albertazzi

Università di Bologna

Frank Corcoran

Staatliche Hochschule für Musik und darstellende Kunst, Hamburg

Ron Ewart

Zurich James Joyce Foundation

Ruth Frehner

Zurich James Joyce Foundation

Luke Gibbons

University of Notre Dame

Michael Patrick Gillespie

Marquette University

Michael Groden

University of Western Ontario

Sean Latham

University of Tulsa

Geert Lernout

Antwerp Joyce Centre

Vicki Mahaffey

University of Pennsylvania

Francesco Marroni

Università di Pescara

John McCourt

University of Trieste

Ilaria Natali

University of Florence

Bernard O’Donoghue

Oxford University

Erik Schneider

Trieste Joyce Museum

Fritz Senn

Zurich James Joyce Foundation

Ferenc Takacs

ELTE Univeristy, Budapest

Christine van Boheemen-Saaf

Universiteit van Amsterdam

Conor Wyer

Queen’s University, Belfast