Italiano    English   

You are in :

Higher Education

The purpose of Erasmus is to improve the quality of higher education and strengthen its European dimension. It does this by encouraging transnational cooperation between universities, fostering the European mobility of students and teachers, and contributing to improved transparency and academic recognition of qualifications and studies throughout the European Union.

How does it work?

Higher education institutions apply for the Erasmus University Charter (EUC) to the European Commission. The awarding of an EUC gives the institution the right to participate in activities supported by the Erasmus programme. Once an institution receives a Charter, it can apply for funding for activities such as Student Mobility and Curriculum Development projects.
From the academic year 2003/2004, the EUC replaced the previous system of Institutional Contracts between the European Commission and higher education institutions. For more information regarding the changes please contact your National Agency or the Executive Agency's Erasmus Department.

Who is eligible?
Erasmus targets universities (nearly all universities in Europe take part) but also all types of recognised non-university higher education establishments as well as post-university studies.
A list of eligible institutions is provided by country.

Erasmus supports the following activities:
- Student and Teaching Staff mobility
- Student mobility (SM)
Erasmus gives students (up to and including doctorate, except for students enrolled in their first year of Higher Education) the opportunity to study for a period of 3-12 months at a university or higher education establishment in another participating country in the framework of agreed arrangements between universities. The time spent in the other country is fully recognised in the originating university, thanks to ECTS. Students also receive an Erasmus Student Charter which outlines their rights as visiting students and the obligations which they must fulfil at their host institution.
- Teaching staff mobility (TS)
Erasmus provides support for teachers giving, generally short courses, as part of the official curriculum of a partner university in another European country. The grants are intended as a contribution to the additional costs arising from teaching in another country.
- Organisation of mobility (OM)
Erasmus provides support to higher education institutions for the creation of optimal conditions: a) for students, to undertake recognised periods of study at partner institutions in other participating countries; b) for teachers, to organise fully integrated teaching assignments of short duration; c) for implementation of ECTS and Diploma Supplement (DS). These optimal conditions include information, infrastructure and facilities, guidance, follow-up, involvement of local partners and facilities, guidance, follow-up, involvement of local partners and associations, etc.

European Credit Transfer System (ECTS)
Erasmus supports the activities related to the introduction, implementation and/or extension of ECTS, a system for academic credit allocation and transfer. The ECTS support mechanisms are: an ECTS introduction grant for institutions, which have never received Erasmus support for ECTS, an ECTS label for institutions which apply ECTS the proper way in all first and second cycle degree label for institutions which apply ECTS the proper way in all first and second cycle degree programmes, an ECTS Credit Accumulation Grant for institutions which have the ECTS label and wish to introduce mechanisms for credit accumulation, ECTS/DS Counsellors and ECTS/DS Counsellors site visits.

Intensive programmes (IP)
Community funding may be allocated to universities organising short courses (10 days to 3 month) provided they have a European dimension. Financial support is available for one, two or three consecutive years on the understanding that every year the group of participants must be different and/or the themes involved must be different.

Curriculum Development projects (CD)
At least three establishments from different countries pool their resources to develop a programme of study, a module or a masters programme. This can be done in all academic subject areas. The financial support is for a maximum of three years.

How to apply?

My institution does not have an Erasmus University Charter...
To participate in the Erasmus programme, higher education institutions have to apply for an Erasmus University Charter (EUC) using an on-line application form which will be available on this site. 1982 institutions from 30 countries have been awarded an EUC so far.
For Curriculum Development projects (CD), Intensive Programmes (IP) institutions should apply to the Executive Agency (EACEA).

My institution has an Erasmus University Charter...
If your institution has been awarded an EUC you can apply directly to your National Agency for funds for the Organisation of Mobility (OM), Student Mobility (SM), Teacher Mobility (TS) and for the introduction of the European Credit Transfer System (ECTS).
Deadline: to be decided by each National Agency
For European Credit Transfer System (ECTS) label and Diploma Supplement (DS) label please submit an application to the Executive Agency (EACEA).
For Curriculum Development projects (CD) and Intensive Programmes (IP), institutions should submit separate applications for each project to the Executive Agency (EACEA).

I'm a student or teacher interested in mobility...
If you are interested in mobility and are eligible for the Erasmus programme, you should contact the international relations department of your institution. For young people who are not eligible for Erasmus but would like to study abroad other programmes are available.

Informazioni aggiornate al: 15.1.2014 alle ore 12:24